top of page

New Changes to Bowl Season: Highlights and Key Dates for HBCU Fans

Get ready for an action-packed bowl season starting on the second Saturday in December! This year, the Army-Navy game will kick off a day of college football, playing at its usual 3 p.m. ET time slot on CBS, but nestled between two thrilling bowl games.

Key Dates and Highlights:

  • Dec. 14:

  • Cricket Celebration Bowl at noon on ABC.

  • Army-Navy Game at 3 p.m. ET on CBS.

  • Camellia Bowl at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN.

This year's postseason will include the expanded 12-team College Football Playoff (CFP), starting on Dec. 20 and leading to the national championship game on Jan. 20.

Bowl Season executive director Nick Carparelli shared his excitement: "The expanded CFP adds another level of excitement to our postseason. We adjusted the schedule to maintain a full day of college football, especially on Dec. 14, with games around the Army-Navy game."

Pre-Christmas Games:

  • This year, there will be 11 games before Christmas, compared to 18 last season, due to the calendar's unique structure.

Busiest Bowl Day:

  • Dec. 28: Featuring eight games, including the Snoop Dogg Arizona Bowl presented by Gin & Juice by Dre and Snoop.

Christmas Eve and Beyond:

  • Hawai'i Bowl returns on Christmas Eve at 8 p.m. ET on ESPN.

  • Dec. 26:

  • Detroit Bowl at 2 p.m. ET on ESPN.

  • Guaranteed Rate Bowl at 5:30 p.m. ET on ESPN.

  • 68 Ventures Bowl at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN.

New Year's Eve and New Year's Day:

  • New Year's Eve: Five games, including the Vrbo Fiesta Bowl at 7:30 p.m. ET on ESPN.

  • New Year's Day: CFP quarterfinal triple-header:

  • Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl at 1 p.m. ET on ESPN.

  • Rose Bowl Game at 5 p.m. ET on ESPN.

  • Allstate Sugar Bowl at 8:45 p.m. ET on ESPN.

The bowl games will continue until Jan. 4, with the CFP semifinals starting on Jan. 9, leading up to the national championship game on Jan. 20.

Celebrating HBCU Champions:

  • The Cricket Celebration Bowl at Atlanta's Mercedes-Benz Stadium will feature the champions of the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference and the Southwestern Athletic Conference, showcasing the national championship for historically Black colleges and universities.

Stay tuned for more updates and get ready to cheer on your favorite teams this bowl season!

3 views0 comments


bottom of page